April 10, 2021

Rohr Announces Nigeria’s 23-man Squad for Russia 2018

Super Eagles of Nigeria Head Coach, Gernot Rohr, has released his final 23-man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

The final list consists of just one home based player and that is Ikechukwu Ezenwa of Enyimba Football Club of Aba.

English Premier League stars flood the Forward position for the squad with Alex Iwobi from Arsenal, Kelechi Iheanacho from Leicester City, and Victor Moses from Chelsea FC.

Mikel Obi would lead the team as captain of the squad. Ola Aina and Mikel Agu, although not included in the 23-man list, according to Rohr would serve as reserve and would be called up should any from the final 23-man list get injured during the world cup.

Nigeria will face Czech Republic in their next warm up game on
Wednesday, before heading out to Russia.

The Eagles get their 2018 FIFA World Cup campaign underway
in two weeks’ time against Croatia on June 16.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United).

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu
(Bursaspor), Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag), Elderson Echiejile
(Cercle Brugge KSV), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm), Chidozie
Awaziem (Nantes FC), Leon Balogun (Brighton), Kenneth
Omeruo (Kasimpasa).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda), Ogenyi Onazi
(Trabzonspor), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Oghenekaro Etebo
(Las Palmas), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Joel Obi (Torino,

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow), Kelechi Iheanacho
(Leicester City), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Simeon Nwankwo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *